His charm, vanity and vivacious personality..

Is just a few words to describe Cecil Beaton, one of the Royal photographers…

On Friday I managed to get to the Queen Elizabeth II exhibition, photography exclusively by Cecil Beaton, asides from a number of portraits of Beaton by the likes of Curtis Moffat.
I actually loved the exhibition, it was so personal especially with the pictures of the Queen and her children. The images are beautiful and touching, and positively amazing seeing Royalty as nice and normal people – a comment which was written by the Queen in a letter to Beaton, thanking him for his portrayal of the family.

‘The telephone rang. ‘This is the lady-in-waiting speaking. The Queen wants to know if you will photograph her tomorrow afternoon’ … In choosing me to take her photographs, the Queen made a daring innovation. It is inconceivable that her predecessor would have summoned me – my work was still considered revolutionary and unconventional.’
Cecil Beaton’s diary, July 1939

Please read more about the exhibition here on the V&A’s website

I had my first shift on the bar last night, and I think it went really well! I didn’t panic, didn’t make too many mistakes, and didn’t get too bummed out at the fact I serving and not drinking! Another announcement, I’ve just gone over by 200th follower mark! Thank you to everyone who enjoys my work and keeps having a look back!

5 thoughts on “His charm, vanity and vivacious personality..

  1. Interesting stuff. I like the earliest one, with the painterly quality created by the shallow DoF. I’m a bit surprised by the double shadows he has behind the ladies in waiting in the line-up. Of course, in the diary entry for ’39 the reference to the Queen would be to Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother as we knew her, the current Queen was a child then.

  2. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back at some point. I want to encourage continue your great job, have a nice holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

