Initial Shooting

My first solo shoot in the studioo..

As I may have mentioned before, I am doing a foundation degree in professional photography and we have just started a new module on portraiture! (EXCITED) I’m still in the ideas stage so these photos below are my initial test shots, but I think they came out quite alright?
For these photos, I went with using the black background because, well simply, I hate white backdrops. Okay so a lot of great photographers (such as Richard Avedon – In the American West) have made it work and look amazing, but I cant. Also, I think it gives a more atmospheric feel to it. I used one big soft box to light up one side of my models, I could have played about more with lighting – but that is for another day. (: (My Models: Dom, Jordy and Nikki)
Find more pictures from this shoot Here (:

Leave a Reply

