That was clearly a waste of time

Suzie Mercers exhib set up

Suzie Mercers exhib set up

Some people just are not worth the bother

I’m not very articulate, I can’t talk to people very well and explain things, or talk about my own work. And even building up the confidence to talk to someone who is looking at my work is difficult. But again, after a few ‘liquid confidences’, I went over and talked to someone. And after a while of chatting, and trying to do my best, he goes and says ‘I’ll be honest, I live in East London and i come to alot of these things just for the free booze’. Well great. Time for a few more liquid confidences…

It is mildly depressing looking at all the other amazing student photographers there and realising I’m actually really bad… But, the majority of them are third years and look like they have massive budgets, and we are just second years with zero budjet. Not that thats a really valid excuse…

I didn’t mention in the last post, but we honestly had the worst space possible. We paid nearly 4 grand for this?? Two walls: one short one with two doors in the middle, and the long wall with pillars and shit all over the place. Wow, that’s outstanding.

Barbara and Nikky setting up

Lee, Dom and Suzie having a chat

Lee, Dom and Suzie having a chat

Jordan Day's Exhib set up

Jordan Day’s Exhib set up

Alex Vokes exhib set up

Alex Vokes exhib set up

Gema Birds exhib set up. (Me, eeee!)

Gema Birds exhib set up. (Me, eeee!)

Domanic Hunters exhib set up.

Domanic Hunters exhib set up.

Lee Heavens exhib set up

Lee Heavens exhib set up

Barbara Dixons exhib set up

Barbara Dixons exhib set up

Nicola Cannons exhib set up

Nicola Cannons exhib set up

3 thoughts on “That was clearly a waste of time

  1. Hi Gemma,
    I was so excited for you on reading this post. There is something so special about exhibiting your work, a cocktail of foreboding and exhilaration, quite powerful. Must admit I didn’t study photography at college, instead it was textile print design, how did that happen. But I do recall the opening nights of shows, and how it felt to see my efforts up there on the gallery walls.
    I wish you all the best in your photographic practice.
    Gordon.
    PS I Liked your photographs very much.

  2. Gemma,
    “There will always be greater and lesser persons than yourself!” Every time I see the work of other photographers and it’s many time a week (!) I oscillate between feeling inadequate and physically sick with envy. The important thing is the journey. It’s not nearly so much fun to arrive. From there it is only a downhill journey. Exhibitions will often be a disappointment for the reasons you gave. Then one day someone will say they wanted to come to see YOUR photographs (and not for free drink) and you will feel fantastic for weeks. Believe me – and it will happen!

    However fir this to happen it is vital that you continue to do what YOU like and the way YOU want to see. Otherwise none of us will get anywhere as they won’t have the inspiration of seeing your images. Dave H.

Leave a Reply

